{Healthy} Coffee Oatmeal

Hey y’all! Today is Friday, aka the best day of the week. I started my day off with an early morning run with my Fitbit all charged! Also update: Starbucks has Matcha Lemonade and I’m over the moon excited!! I got an awesome to die for breakfast recipe for all you coffee lovers. 

If you’re anything like me, you are a monster before you have your multiple cups of coffee. I have been drinking coffee to survive since middle school. I literally would get headaches and massive irratibility if I didn’t have a cup or two. Ever since I started my fitness “journey”, I have tried to drink it more sparingly and a LOT less. They way I was drinking it was basically no coffee and all creamer. Or a Carmel macchiato from Starbucks (the calories in this is not okay for me anymore). Anyways, I’ve recently starting drinking coffee with a splash of almond milk creamer or a little coconut milk. 

I love coffee. Which is the point. 

I’ve seen quinoa coffee recipes, oatmeal coffee, etc and I’ve always been kind of skeptical to try it. Especially because I am a season eater. 

What is a season eater? I like cold stuff in the summer and hot stuff in the winter. So I was a little weird about trying oatmeal on a hot summer day in Virginia. But I am SOOOOO happy I did. This recipe was really light, just enough chocolate, and an awesome coffee flavor. 

Ingredients 

  • 2 cup oatmeal (I used steel cut oats. They’re a little healthier then traditional, but you can really use whatever oats you love)
  • 1 1/2 cup milk (I think almond milk or coconut milk add a nice flavor) 
  • 1/4 cup coffee of your favorite brew (I use espresso because the darker the better!!!)
  • 3 tablespoons honey
  • 1 tablespoon cinnamon 
  • 1 tsp vanilla (pure)
  • 1/6 cup chocolate (I used dark chocolate because it has more health benefits and homegirl loves chocolate)
  • 1 egg
  • I added toppings to my oatmeal because who doesn’t love loaded oatmeal. I added cashews, almonds, and banana 

Instructions

  • Throw everything into a mixing bowl and stir everything 
  • Pour mixture in a greased baking dish 
  • Cook for 35-45 minutes (desired crispyness) at 350 degrees 

Enjoy!

The best part about this recipe is that when you’re all done and have tons left over you can save the rest for overnight oats with some yougurt the next morning. Yum!!

Leave a Reply

