Tips to Overcome the Stubborn Scale & More

We’ve all been there. The scale won’t budge. Maybe you are super close to your goal weight and that’s your last 5 pounds to lose. Or maybe you are in the middle of your weight loss journey and you have hit a wall and can’t lose anymore. You may think what’s the point or why do I do this if I can’t lose any more weight? Like all of you know, it is a huge process and doesn’t happen overnight. But it is frustrating as hell not being able to lose pounds even though you are grinding hard and eating awesome. 

I got some tips for you for what I do every time I hit that wall, how I started running no matter how much I hate it, my  dinner tonight and real numbers of my journey:

Don’t give up. 

That’s the first tip I can give you. You started this journey for a reason and just because you hit a plateau doesn’t mean you stop. You keep going and eventually you will lose that stubborn pound. 

Sleep more. 

I know this sounds stupid but sleep is essential. Sleep loss interferes with the body’s ability to metabolize carbohydrates. It also affects the secretion of cortisol (the hormone that regulates our appetite), meaning that people who sleep less may feel hungrier and eat more. I worked nights and the nights I didn’t work I tried to stay up for 24 hours a day to get my cycle back to normal. It was awful and my weight loss took a major hault because of it. Sleep at least 7 hours a night. More is better. Try going to bed each night 20 minutes earlier. 

Shift your macros. 

For one just because you eat 1,300 calories a day and burn about 2,000 does NOT mean you’re going to lose weight all the time. You need to count macros. Meaning 40% protein, 30% carbohydrates, 30% fat. Seriously. Your body gets complacent in what percentage of carbohydrates, protein and fat you are eating. Not seeing results? Change it up. I cut my carbohydrates down a little bit, and I saw a major improvement. Remember, every body is different and reacts different! For me, pasta and rice make me feel sluggish so that’s not a carb that I will have. 

Drink more water. 

When you’re dehydrated, your metabolism slows and so does your weight loss. A sluggish metabolism cannot burn calories as fast and efficiently as it does when you’re drinking the recommended amount of water on a daily basis. The fat tissue will stop having blood flow through it, and thus, no fat removal. Drink your water. 

Eat that craving. 

Have the donut or the thin mint. People that don’t cheat are more likely to fall off the wagon HARD. We are human and those cheats are essential to remind us why we’re doing this and how far we have come. One cookie doesn’t matter, just don’t eat the whole container (or do if you really want). Moderation. 

Change your workout plan. 

Same as macros. Your body gets used to the workout your doing if you do the same one day in and day out. Your muscles don’t work hard anymore. Change it up. If you run, change up the distance or the route. If you lift try to change the type of exercise for the muscle group your working. 

Remember why you’re doing it. 

I can’t tell you how many times I’ve sat there saying how bad I don’t want to run. But I still do it. You think back to why you started and how you don’t ever want to be there again. 

How I started running

Okay this is important. I HATE running. I get bored honestly. Now I run everyday and kinda love it. I use a 5k trainer app that is awesome! It starts off at beginner. If you can’t run, no issue! You can with this baby. Run 1:30, walk 2 minutes. Perfect right? You’ll be running in no time. I couldn’t even run 5 minutes straight when I first started (l o l) now I can run 2 miles! 


I have the free version and will update soon! 

Dinner: potato pizzas with Parmesan corn

This was super delicious, light, and healthy!


Ingredients 

  • Potatos (however many you want)
  • Organic marinara sauce or pesto
  • Low fat mozzarella cheese
  • Basil
  • Pepper and garlic 

How to for the pizza 

  • Cut potatos in 1 1/4 slices and spread with olive oil
  • Cook in oven at 350 for 45 minutes 
  • Spread sauce and mozzarella. Put back in the oven for 15 minutes (or desired crispness)
  • Top with fresh basil 

Ingredients for corn

  • Corn
  • Sprinkle of Parmesan 
  • Olive oil 
  • Pinch of Pepper
  • Pinch of oregano 

How to for corn

  • Put olive oil in pan and heat on medium
  • Put corn in and sprinkle oregano and pepper 
  • Sprinkle Parmesan and let melt 
  • Ready to serve!

Yum!! Super light, low calories, and good. 

Real numbers 

When I started last July I was a size 14, at 197 pounds (super embarrassing and the heaviest I have ever been). I moved to California and lost 5 pounds. I felt awesome. I got back into my habits of eating tons and having wine when I got back home to Virginia. In January I decided I wanted to change my lifestyle but I wasn’t super dedicated. One day I just decided that I wanted to feel healthy. That. Changed everything for me. It was no longer about jo I wanted to lose weight and be tiny. It was about me wanting to feel good. I wanted my body to feel good. I was finally in a place where I was eating so well that what I put in my body directly influenced how my body reacted. It was great. But was scary. Ever since I have been kind of a health nut except for a few cheats (which are important!!!). FYI my favorite cheats are thin mints and Pringles. Now I don’t have the desire to cheat often and great. 

I am currently 162 pounds, and a size 6. I have lost 32 pounds, and a bunch of inches as well as pants size. I am no where near where I want to be but know it’s attainable. Set those 5 lb goals. It makes the journey seem much more reachable. 


~until next time ~

Leave a Reply

