BBQ Apple Chicken Quinoa Burger

Hi friends!

So I have a huge obsession with searching for healthy recipes for hours online. I substituted my online shopping obsession for a kind of better one right? I recently stumbled upon an awesome healthy food website that has it all. I mean vegan, gluten free, vegetarian, meat, fish, breakfast, lunch, appetizers, dinner, you name it! You can find them, here. So I, like anyone else, have saved a bunch of different recipes to try. 

Tonight I tried BBQ apple quinoa chicken burgers. I know what you’re thinking yuuuuummm. Same. 


The original recipe called for ground turkey but I did not have it so I used ground chicken instead! 

Ingredients for the burger:

1 lb ground turkey

2 tablespoons organic BBQ sauce 

2 tablespoons of minced garlic

2 tablespoons of oat flour (or any of your choice)

1 teaspoon of onion powder

salt and pepper to taste 

How to for the burger:

Cook quinoa per instructions (mine required me to boil water, add quinoa, bring to boil then bring to medium heat and simmer it while covered for 12 minutes, then let sit for 15 minutes)

While cooking quinoa, preheat the oven to 375

Then add all the ingridents in a bowl and mix them together 

Ball and shape the mix into burger shapes 

I made about 6, but I would recommend making them bigger

Cook for 25-30 minutes, flip the burgers at the halfway point

Top with spiralized apples (I sliced for the sake of time and not having a way to spiral) onions, spinach (called for kale but substituted) and tomato  

Sides

Roasted asparagus 

Drizzle with a little olive oil, pepper, oregano, and garlic powder and cook in the oven with the burgers for 25 minutes until desired crispy!! I like my ends burnt. 

Roasted zucchini 

Again drizzle a little bit of olive oil, pepper, and garlic powder, add oregano if you want. Cook in the same oven at 375, for 15 minutes (flip them at half way point if desired)

This recipe is ridiculously easy and tasty. I didn’t use a bun for my burger, but of course that makes it more official! You could also use lettuce wraps instead of the bun. 

Enjoy!

~ Until next time ~

Leave a Reply

